Diani.

It’s something we talk about a lot. It’s something I have talked about quite a lot. I even thought I had it somewhat figured out. But truth is I hadn’t. I struggled to know it has to work.(pun intended) But then one day, as I went about talking to someone, it became very clear. I saw it in its true light and boy was I excited! I literally lit up. I guess I began to understand the joy the comes with finding something you have diligently searched out for but never knowing how to even find it.

I like long spans of white sandy beaches. We have some in Kenya, too beautiful to believe until you get there and realize that the photos could only convey so much while leaving most of it out. These beaches often paint a picture of rest, a great destination to go and rest, unwind, etc. But what really is rest? Is it sleeping thru all your vacation days? Is it going to Diani and enjoying the sun washed beaches? Is it sitting put in some corner waiting for the grand miracle to happen? What is rest?

Rest is not inactivity neither is it reckless. It is not the resort when all else fails. I came to realise that many people tend to ‘enter rest’ as a last (not first) resort. This means they first try in their own power to obtain something (promise, miracle etc) and when that fails they now resort to an idea they perceive as rest. No, this is not rest, it is defeat. Rest is neither inactivity. It’s not covering one’s head and having a good feeling that the miracle is gonna pop! That is something else but not rest. Neither is it a good idea somewhere floating in the spirit to be gotten when the blessing comes.

Rest, as I now know it, is simply this: that you get the thing you wanted (or believed for) without dispensing your energy- simply put: you getting a promise or desire without your input. Your energy or effort is not required in accomplishing the matter. Rest is carrying the mind and disposition that whatever I need is granted and even if it were not granted my input whatsoever in obtaining it shall never be required. I only get to use my energy in enjoying the matter.

It’s a common interpretation that God is going to do things for us. But scriptures speak otherwise, the works were finished from the foundation of the world. He is not going to do, He has done! This then means that nothing is going to happen in the sense as it has already happened. True rest is in having this mind.

True rest then dictates that we begin to function and dispense ourselves on what we desire(d) to do with thing we expected to get. True rest facilitates faith, the possession of that which we hope for. It leads us not into despair or weariness nor confusion but rather to fulfillment and fruitfulness. We don’t just look forward, we walk forward to brighter times. Anxiety and cousins have no hold or place in such a mind. In fact such people can’t and don’t experience delay. Selah!

So I have learnt how rest works- For we which have believed do enter into rest. I have believed and I am enjoying every opportunity more and more. It is become apparent what it means to spend and be spent.

Keep and protect me, O God, for in You I have found refuge, and in You do I put my trust and hide myself.  I say to the Lord, You are my Lord; I have no good beside or beyond You. As for the godly (the saints) who are in the land, they are the excellent, the noble, and the glorious, in whom is all my delight.

Their sorrows shall be multiplied who choose another god; their drink offerings of blood will I not offer or take their names upon my lips.

The Lord is my chosen and assigned portion, my cup; You hold and maintain my lot. The lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; yes, I have a good heritage.  I will bless the Lord, Who has given me counsel; yes, my heart instructs me in the night seasons. I have set the Lord continually before me; because He is at my right hand, I shall not be moved.  Therefore my heart is glad and my glory [my inner self] rejoices; my body too shall rest and confidently dwell in safety,

Psalms 16.1-9
Amplified Bible, Classic Edition (AMPC)

Leave a Reply

